Visa On Arrival (VOA)


Here are the facts on the Bali visa situation. We know because we are always at the aiport and are always talking with people arriving in Bali.

  • You need a visa to enter Indonesia. You can get one at the airport in most cases, called the Visa on Arrival.
  • 30-Day Visa On Arrival (VOA). Pay on arrival, get a visa in your passport, get it stamped. Most visitors fall in this category.
  • 60-Day Tourist Visa. Available at Indonesian embassies and consulates outside Indonesia. See this link for more information
    Visa waiver. Show your passport, get stamped, that’s it. Applies only to a few select, mostly ASEAN countries.

Visa on Arrival

95% of the visitors to Bali get a Visa on Arrival. Here are detailed instructions on how to get your Visa on Arrival (VOA) and exit the Bali airport.

Requirements and Restrictions

  1. Entry via airport or seaport, including Bali.
  2. Valid passport with 6-months remaining validity.
  3. Two empty pages for immigration stamps.
  4. For residents of most European countries, the United States, Australia, Japan, South Korea, South Africa, China, Taiwan, and many others.
  5. Valid for 30 days from date of arrival. This is NOT one month, it’s 30 days. Day 1 is your date of arrival.
  6. Can be extended once. Visa services in Kuta and other areas will do it for 450,000rp, or do it yourself
  7. $25USD cost. Bring exact change. There is no ATM in the visa/customs area.

If you have a 60-day tourist visa, you don’t need to use the Visa on Arrival procedures. Go directly to the Immigration queue on the far right that says Tourist Visa. Sometimes this line is shorter, sometimes not!

List of Airports with Visa On Arrival facilities:

1. Sultan Iskandar Muda, Banda Aceh 11. Ahmad Yani, Semarang
2. Kuala Namu, Medan 12. Adi Sumarmo, Surakarta
3. Sultan Syarif Kasim II, Pekanbaru 13. Juanda, Surabaya
4. Hang Nadim, Batam 14. Supadio, Pontianak
5. Minangkabau, Padang 15. Sepinggan, Balikpapan
6. Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II, Palembang 16. Sam Ratulangi, Manado
7. Soekarno-Hatta, Jakarta 17. Sultan Hasanuddin, Makassar
8. Halim Perdana Kusuma, Jakarta 18. Ngurah Rai, Bali
9. Husein Sastranegara, Bandung 19. Selaparang, Mataram
10. Adi Sutcipto, Yogyakarta 20. El Tari, Kupang